Humility as a Parent

Parenting requires a great deal of sacrifice. You pour a great deal of time, money, and effort into raising your children. Not many things could more accurately portray Becoming Last. My little guy is certainly worth it and I’m sure you’d say the same about your kids. But sometimes I find myself forgetting that it’s not beneath me to serve him too. Experts normally say that people best learn when their leaders lead by example. So here’s some questions to ask to see if you are Becoming Last as a parent. Disclaimer: I am not a parenting expert. I just love my kid and have some observations about my own tendencies.

  1. If your child acts out in public, are you consistent with your discipline or do they get the “extra upset” version because you are embarrassed?
  2. When they directly defy you do you care more about their development than your pride?
  3. Are you consistent with discipline no matter your attitude, sleep deprivation level, or crazy long day?
  4. Do you work hard at praising your kids for jobs well done?
  5. How many times do you say, “I love you!”?
  6. Do you give them grace occasionally?
  7. Do you practice what you preach (cleaning up after yourself, washing your hands, saying “please”, etc.)?
  8. Are you willing to say “I’m sorry” when your voice is too loud or you react a little stronger than you should have?

Just a short list today. I think in parenting we (read “I”) can sometimes become domineering. Certainly, we are the adults and they should listen, but I know I can also practice humility and a servant attitude towards my son.

So, for you parents out there today, how can you Become Last?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Humility as a Parent

  1. Great post/list……

    Traveling this parenting journey for the past 18 years (with TONS of screw ups along the way…..)…..I will say that I believe that #8 is the most important one.

    Glad God led me here today. 🙂

  2. I’m glad you came here too! And yes, I’d agree #8 is up there, but it’s probably one of the hardest. Saying sorry is one of the hardest things for me to do. Pride is an ugly thing sometimes. Thanks for commenting!

  3. Pingback: Friday Top Five 11/13/09 | Shooting the Breeze

Leave a comment