Lessons From a Party – Part 2 – Using Your Talents for Others

You may have noticed my last post on Wednesday promised another post to follow by the next day. Yeah…that didn’t happen. I love posting, but seeing as how I don’t get paid for this, don’t go to school for this, it takes away from my family, and my free time is rare it can sometimes take me a few days to post. Enough excuses, my apologies for the delay. I know at least one person (me) missed it. I enjoy encouraging and being encouraged by those who read, comment, tweet, and email.

In the previous post, I briefly mentioned my birthday party included a guest, my dad and stepmom’s new neighbor Blair. Some people would think imagine a dinner with someone new to be an awkward affair. On the contrary, my family could make friends with a light post. I love that about them. Blair was also quite friendly as she shared parts of her story and brought over gifts to share with us.

These gifts were nothing lame. They were handcrafted, designer soaps she makes from her home. She gave samples away to each family and seriously, I know I’m a man and all, but these soaps were pretty neat. They came in all sorts of shapes: Lego’s, turtles, exploding frogs, sea sponges, pies. It was actually another superb demonstration of someone who is immensely more creative than I am or ever will be. I’m always intrigued at the stuff people come up with.

But here’s the Becoming Last part. Soap making is a part-time job for Blair. She spends many hours crafting these designs and she would have every right to enjoy all the proceeds from her endeavor. However, she gives a substantial portion of her proceeds to SafeHaven, a no kill shelter in Raleigh, North Carolina. I think that’s awesome.

This is no pet cause either (pun most definitely intended). She has two dogs and a cat at home. She loves animals and she talked passionately about loving them and the reasons why she loves SafeHaven.

I’m impressed she would give so much of her time to a job and then give the money away. I’ll readily admit if I had a talent like that and spent a great deal of time crafting soaps that I would be hesitant to give away the profit. It’s not that she’s a millionaire either. She simply cares enough about something other than herself to be willing to give away her time and money. Very cool.

So for you and I, what can we learn from this? Quite a bit, but let’s just elaborate with one semi-cliche point: We can all make a difference. Seriously. How many times have you thought to yourself, “I’d love to help, but I’m not sure how”? I know I’ve looked at folks with lots of money and wished I’ve had that to give away. We’ve all seen bikers or runners who ride or run for a good cause. Well, why can’t we use our talents to give back to others? Blair is good at making soaps. There are no soap making marathons (maybe she can start that!) so she chose to make and sell soaps for SafeHaven.

I can’t say what this looks like for everyone. We’re all different. We’ve got unique talents. My encouragement is not to sell yourself short. Don’t think you can’t make a difference. I’ve said that before, but it’s always good to be reminded.

If you’d like to check out Blair’s soaps, her business is called Good Karma Soaps. It’s worth checking out just to see all the fun soap designs she has created!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Lessons From a Party – Part 2 – Using Your Talents for Others

  1. Pingback: Laurel’s Soap Making Blog » Blog Archive » Lessons From a Party – Part 2 – Using Your Talents for Others …

  2. Matt, what a great example Blair is. There are so many ways to make a difference, what a unique one she’s found!

    Thanks for sharing!

  3. Bernadette Pabon

    Your family will e ablessing to your neighbor, but most important you will be a blessng to her. What a beautiful example of neighborly kindness and appreciation of talent. God bless you, I wll check up on her talent.

Leave a Reply

