Steps Toward Change

Not many people would say, “I don’t care if people don’t have food or water.” I hope I’m not too far off in believing most of us genuinely want to help people out. The problem is our lives aren’t oriented in such a fashion where that is possible.

Many of us spend so much time working because we’ve made financial decisions which dictate us working X amount of hours to pay for everything. Right or wrong, we’re hindered by those decisions. Our entertainment also takes up our time. There’s hardly a passion you could name which could not be satisfied within hours in America. Because of this, we spend a lot of our time feeding those passions. Again, not necessarily a bad thing, but time consuming.

My point is this: If you want to begin helping others, begin making one intentional decision in that direction each day.

Change rarely occurs overnight. We have developed our patterns of behavior over the course of our entire lives! Rarely does that change automatically. It’s a process. It’s a set of determined, thought out decisions that eventually became the rhythm of your life.

So where can you begin today? What can you do tomorrow? If you’re at a loss, take some time and explore other posts as you may find some encouragement or inspiration.

What does the symphony of your life sound like? The best orchestra did not get that way overnight. It took years and years of practice. How can you begin to intentionally move yourself in the direction of Becoming Last?

6 Comments

Filed under christian, making a difference, selflessness, Time

6 responses to “Steps Toward Change

  1. I read your blog! Read mine!

  2. You’re funny….I will never tell you about my blogging pet peeves again!

  3. Very nice post. So True. I am glad I stopped by.

  4. Thanks DeAntwan. I followed you on Twitter. Hope to see you around more!

  5. Awesome post.

    Being intentional is the hardest thing but is desperately important.

    I intend to be intentional about becoming last but I’m never intentional enough about it. I need to be more intentional about being intentional, not just intending to be intentional!

    Was that understandable?

  6. I’m right there with you Peter. I guess that’s where community comes in. When you have a community of people behind you to hold you accountable it’s much easier!

Leave a Reply

