Imaginiff

Failure. Mistakes. Disappointments. All a part of life. All…not so much fun.

A little over a year ago, I bought this board game called Imaginiff. I was pumped. I found it on sale, read the back, and it sounded like something fun to do with a group of friends. I even chose it over a Fray CD (I know…what was I thinking?) because I was hoping it would be fun to play that weekend.

Long story short – it bombed. Not once, not twice, but three times. I’ve tried and tried to get people into the game and it just doesn’t happen. I’m convinced the game is fun though (note Award Winner in picture). My friends just don’t know a good time! So there it sits in my armoire…a constant reminder of my apparently unfortunate taste for boardgames.

It’s really fine though. We’re all going to swing and miss. In baseball, they think you’re awesome if you succeed three times out of ten. The point is we need to keep swinging.

Learn to learn from your mistakes. Take risks. Take a step of faith. Love someone who’s not guaranteed to love you back. Start a food drive even if you aren’t sure anyone will donate.

We all care about a lot of things, but we let our fear of failure keep us from ever diving into help. Failure is guaranteed if you never try. What’s been weighing on your heart lately? Go for it!

Now, to find some people who might like Imaginiff…

Don’t forget to Become Last today!

6 Comments

Filed under General Update, Realizations, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Imaginiff

  1. I LOVE Imagineiff!! 🙂 My friends in Winston and I get together on the weekends for game night, and it’s one of our favorites… that and Mafia! So, if you are in the area on a Friday night, let me know, and you can come join game night with me and play all the silly games you want. 🙂

    I know that wasn’t the point of your entry… and I like your point a lot… I just couldn’t resist!

  2. See!!! I knew the game had fans! Next time Cheri and I are in town, we are there. Right now, we’re on a Wizard kick. And no…it has nothing to do with Harry Potter or actual Wizards…it’s just the name of a card game.

  3. Oh yeah, I know Wizard too! Ha ha, awesome… Do you remember teaching us to play Mal in college those nights Zoe made dinners? We’ve been playing Mal at game night lately and I always think of you…

  4. Tim

    I like imaginiff… however, it really depends on the group and how well people know each other. Though we’ve played with celebrity names in place of friend names. These days we’ve been playing more of the games Likewise!, Blokus and T-Shirt Game. All great casual and party games. I actually like them better than imaginiff.

  5. Thanks for joining in Tim. I checked out your blog. Seems you are a game pro so I’ll have to try one of those three you mentioned. Normally we’re pretty much entertained by anything so I’m sure they’ll be fun!

Leave a Reply

