Being a Curmudgeon

Two things I never want to convey on this blog:

  1. I’m Perfect. That’s so far from the truth, it’s laughable. I merely want to encourage people as they Become Last.
  2. Guilt Complex. No one needs another person guilting them into doing stuff. I think we’re called to be servants of all and so I’m trying to orient my life in that manner. My desire is to do things out of love, not guilt.

With that said, I wanted to share a story with you that so ably demonstrates point #1. Last night, a group of women from my church had a small group study and my wife asked me to help babysit. I have some excuses as to why I was so curmudgeony (is that a word?), but excuses aren’t very helpful.

Needless to say, I was not the most forthcomingly (also not a word, but oh well!) helpful husband. I whined, I complained, I got in a bad mood. Seriously, I threw the world’s biggest pity party for myself. For whatever reason, I was in no good mood to help, and I wanted her to know it (note to all husbands and people in general: that’s not the way to be).

So anyway, I did go and help and I had a great time. The kids were awesome and the ladies were really appreciative. I wonder why serving is so hard sometimes? What makes us so clingy to our stuff/time that we make it such a big deal when we serve? I wish serving would come more naturally sometimes, but I guess that comes with time.

To the ladies I helped last night…I hope the study was great. Your kids were. Sorry if any of you noticed my mood in the beginning.

How can you Become Last tonight?

3 Comments

Filed under General Update, Realizations

3 responses to “Being a Curmudgeon

  1. Cheri

    I completely appreciate you coming along to help. I know you weren’t thrilled about it, but you helped me anyway and I am thankful. Sometimes in serving or whatever we do our attitude is what makes the experience good or bad! I love you!

  2. dudethatscrazy

    Good for you. I would never have asked my husband to watch other people’s kids. I’m proud of you rising above and having fun. Sometimes the things we don’t want to do are also the things that will benefit us the most – if we let ourselves believe it or not. Good job on becoming last.

  3. Cheri – You’re right. Sometimes our bad attitudes make our experiences terrible. Imagine what a little optimism would do!

    dtc – Thanks for the kudos. I fall so short so often. Thankfully my wife is a forgiving one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

