Being Intentional – Day 28

A couple of weeks ago, I wrote how Becoming Last does not come natural. I confessed it’s just easier to do nothing. One main reason I sometimes end up doing nothing is simply because I forget. I know. It sounds lame. But it’s easy.

Take this week for example. I heard of one family I know who is moving, another of my friends lost his job, and I just found out a couple of days ago a buddy of mine is moving as well. Now, when I hear those things, all sorts of thoughts run through my head.

  • “I’ll help that family move.”
  • “Maybe I could bring a meal to my friend who lost his job.”
  • “I should ask around and see if we can get more people to help.”

Those sorts of thoughts tumble through my mind, but somehow they fall right out! I just get so caught up doing life that I forget to help. The family moved yesterday and not only did I forget, but when I remembered I was without a car! Talk about bad planning! I still haven’t taken a meal over to my friend either.

Which leads me to this. In order to Become Last I have to be intentional. It’s just not going to happen on its own. There’s something to be said for doing things when you think about them. So I’ve resolved a couple of habit changes I think can help:

  1. Immediate Action: If there’s something that can be done (like calling my wife and asking her if we can take a meal which I’m finally doing now) then do it.
  2. Make a Note: Write it down. Leave a message on my own phone. Give myself a chance to remember.
  3. Include Someone Else: There’s something to be said for having another person help. It keeps you both accountable, you’re able to do more, and it builds momentum. So, those of you who know me should be on the lookout for a call about helping a friend move! 🙂

I know it’s nothing earth shattering, but Becoming Last involves paying attention to even the smallest things. Thanks for reading.

How can you Become Last today, without putting it off?

2 Comments

Filed under Chances to Serve, General Update, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Being Intentional – Day 28

  1. Chris

    Recognizing that missed opportunities is 1/2 the battle. It’s part of the practice. You will learn from your mistakes (for lack of a better word).

  2. It’s for sure a learning process. More like refining. i just don’t think I ever realized how other-focused I wasn’t. I have always said I love people, but it becomes more obvious by the day that love can grow so much deeper (not to mention more tangible).

Leave a Reply

