Love is Patient – Day 25

I think we underestimate our capacity to love. We settle for this really mediocre brand of love. It’s like a terrible off-brand of soda type love. Maybe it’s because we feel like love should come naturally. So we don’t spend time working at it. But I wonder…why not work on love?

Our bodies need to be worked out in order to be in top physical shape. Some people need more work than others, but no one is naturally at the peak. It takes hours. It takes training. It takes work. And if we stop working out, the progress we make begins to deteriorate. We can’t work as hard or play as well because we’ve stopped working at it.

I think love is that way. 1 Corinthians 13 says this about love:

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

That’s a pretty difficult definition of love. But that is love. Anything less becomes a cheap imitation. Obviously, perfection is out of reach, but do we miss out on the beauty of what is described by settling for the way we love now. Do we want to display scrawny love or triathlon/athlete type love?

This morning, my patience was tested at work. Not because of anything people did, but because of communication barriers. I was speaking with people who didn’t know English well. And I admit, it became frustrating. But should I settle for just treating them o.k. enough to get by or can I pray and work on loving them better?

I don’t know. Maybe I’m off base. It’s just something I’m wrestling with. I say I love people, but am I willing to love them better? Even the best athlete always looks to improve and I am by far not the best at loving people. So take a look at 1 Corinthians 13 again. Where can you begin to work on love? How can you be praying for a love adjustment?

How can you Become Last today?

2 Comments

Filed under Realizations, Scripture, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Love is Patient – Day 25

  1. dudethatscrazy

    Decided to check Becoming Last since you were kind enough to read my work. As it turns out my first blog was on this verse as well – In the Beginning. Its one of my favorite verses, and one to live by. It seems as though we forget “the rules” with the ones we love the most. It reminds me of “Meet Joe Black” when he says “Love is when they know the worst thing about you and its ok.” or something like that.

  2. Thanks for dropping in! I’ve never seen “Meet Joe Black”. I’ll have to check it out. Maybe it will come on Redbox one of these days. I love those machines!

Leave a Reply

