Calvin and Hobbes Theology – Day 18

Calvin and Hobbes is like the Lebron James Michael Jordan (they are retired too) of comic books. The comic is head and shoulder above its peers. If you haven’t read them do not hesitate to buy a comic book here.

One of the reasons the characters are so lovable is the way you could relate to them. I saw this portion of the comic today and couldn’t help, but see myself in Calvin.

Not that I’m a top-notch scholar or anything, but I think we could all use a bit of examination. The Bible constantly calls us for us to examine ourselves (or for God to examine us). One such place is Psalm 26:2 where it says, “Test me, O LORD, and try me, examine my heart and my mind.”

We may not find “outrageous” sin, but I think the reason why we are commanded to examine is because we have a much more subtle problem. We get involved in and we do so many good things, so many ok things, that we lose sight of the best God has for us. Our lives become cluttered with all sorts of fine things and slowly, but surely, we have derailed from our purpose. We’ve become content with casual Christ-following. So I think from time to time, we’ve got to lay our hearts bare before God and ask Him to tweak, redirect, mold, or fix any part that’s not going in the right direction.

I hope that all makes sense. It’s one of those days where I have a hard time talking (writing in this case!). I just thought since we are at the halfway point in the year it would be a good time for all of us Calvins to do a little examining.

How can you Become Last today?

Leave a comment

Filed under Scripture, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

