Five Seconds, One Child – Day 16

Count off five seconds with me. One…Two…Three…Four…Five. As we counted, one child died of a hunger-related issue. As you ponder that, another one has passed away. I spent the morning doing some research and was blown away by some of the statistics I ran across.

  • 16,000 children die each day from a hunger-related cause.
  • In 2005, almost 1.4 billion people lived below the international poverty line, earning less that $1.25 per day.
  • Every year, more than 20 million low birth babies are born in developing countries. Those who survive infancy often suffer through physical and congnitive challenges the rest of their lives.

As I tweeted earlier, hunger-related causes kill more than AIDS, malaria, and tuberculosis combined. Hunger goes beyond the mere physical effect of feeling an empty stomach. Among other things, it prevents people from getting the proper vitamins and nutrients necessary for physical and mental development and leaves them at a higher risk for developing diseases.

There was so much more than I could even begin to describe. It’s that first fact that haunts me the most. The fact that every five seconds a child dies from hunger-related causes. While you read this, several children have died. As we sit in church on Sunday, most churches are an hour, 720 children die. 720. That number honestly just paralyzed me. I just sat there and looked at it. 720 children. It’s hard to fathom.

And it’s easy for that to be a number. But those children have names. They have faces. They are sons. They are daughters. It’s hard for me to look at my boy and put him in those shoes.

I know we can’t save the world, but…I can no longer sit and forget about these children who were never given a chance.

How can we Become Last to the children around the world who need our help?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Five Seconds, One Child – Day 16

  1. Forgive me if you’ve posted this already, but the Hunger Site is an opportunity to help fight hunger. http://www.hungersite.com. All you have to do is go there and click the button, once a day, to donate food given by sponsors. The more people who click each day, the more food is given.

  2. I also have a new neighbor moving in today! So I get to become last by hopefully helping them unload the moving truck!

  3. Mike – The Hunger Site is a cool website. I had some folks at my college rip on it because they thought it made people lazy, but I love the simplicity. By all means, it shouldn’t be our only way of Becoming Last, but one click a day goes a long way towards helping those who need it. It will certainly be on my soon-to-come links page! Also, regarding the new neighbor, kudos for helping with the moving! I’m sure they appreciate that.

Leave a Reply

