Grocery Shopping as a Spirtual Exercise – Day 15

I’ve you’ve been keeping up with the blog, you know by now that my heart is starting to be burdened for the least of these in society. I’ve begun to realize just how lavish of a lifestyle I live. Well, today, even grocery shopping was a chance for me to learn.

We checked out a new Wal-Mart in town. I know some people don’t like Wal-Mart, but I’ve never had an issue with them. So we went in and were amazed at how large the place was and how much was in there! Crazy huge!

So we began shopping and, as I recommended a couple of posts ago, we picked up a can of veggies as a simple way of remembering those in need. But this is where it got interesting for me. We were so pumped by all the low prices we just began stockpiling food in our cart. All sorts of scrumptious, appetizing treats found their way in our basket and when it was all said and done we spent close to $80 on food (that’s a lot for me, I’m very frugal). Our cart was overflowing. And something struck me…

There was all this stuff we longed for, that we desired, and then there was this one can of food someone, somewhere needed. It was a striking contrast. And it’s not to say we shouldn’t enjoy lots of things (maybe we shouldn’t to the degree we do), but I look at the overwhelming excess with which we live and it destroys me to think of people in other parts of the world and even America who would rejoice over the one simple can.  Here I am being picky over which brands of food I want and which snack I want and what I want for dinners, and there are people who go hungry. How can I live such a great life where a big decision is how much to buy (when in fact there are some things in the pantry, just not everything I want) and others are wondering where their next meal will come from?

It is astounding how fortunate I am. It really disturbs me how little I truly understand that. It’s one thing that we have so much, but it’s another to not even understand the truly significant difference it is from others who are suffering. I’m not quite sure what I’m going to do with this lesson I’ve learned. It has definitely gotten me thinking for sure.

Are you Becoming Last?

5 Comments

Filed under General Update, Realizations

5 responses to “Grocery Shopping as a Spirtual Exercise – Day 15

  1. This comment doesn’t really apply to what you wrote here (although I did go to Wal-Mart earlier today), but I just discovered your blog and read through all of it. I love what you’re doing here and I have a feeling that the words “how can you become last” will be haunting me in the days to come. I consider that a good thing.

  2. Thank you for the encouragement Eirene. Those words certainly “haunt” me too! I’m glad you’re part of this now and I look forward to hearing more from you in days to come!

  3. Cheri

    It did shock me that our cart was full and we picked up one measly can of corn for someone else. My goodness. What would happen if we spent a fraction of our grocery cost on buying canned goods to donate. Something to think about. Thank you for waking our lifestyle up to becoming last…. all because of what God has done for us!

  4. Bob

    Stopped at Walmart the other night myself on the way home from work. Had to pick up dinner as my better half and plural kids [read more than 1] were all under the weather. On my way in I noticed an older gentleman standing off to the side and he tried to engage me. The “begger” flags started going off in my head and I ignored him. Grabbed a pizza, hot mac and cheese, and Cheetos. Paid and headed out. Exiting the store, again the man looked my way and said something, although his words were mumbled and undecipherable. Again I didn’t hesitate and proceeded to my car. As I walked I thought more about this. My rational was, I have given money to many beggers in the past…can’t take care of them all. But I couldn’t help notice the food I had just purchased and the meal I knew he didn’t have. So I got into my car, drove back to where he was, and handed him the $4 I still had on me. In his speech I could finally make out “Bojangles”, and drove off as he headed across the parking lot.

    This is nothing to be proud of. I went home with $15 worth of food and only gave this needy guy $4. Why didn’t I also give him the Cheetos and mac and cheese [the pizza was uncooked]? Or go back into the store and buy him a bagful of groceries? I thought to myself it would be nice to get a homeless shelter established in Morrisville to provide food, shelter, health care, etc. to those who need it. Of course an idea holds no value until executed upon…

  5. All great thoughts Cheri and Bob. More often that not I find myself asking the question, “Why should I help?” When, probably, I should be asking, “Why shouldn’t I help?” And Bob, I bet that guy appreciated that $4 more than we could imagine. Maybe a food shelter could be started. That’s something to chew on for all of those in Morrisville.

Leave a Reply

