Doing Nothing is Easier – Day 12

Sometimes it’s easier just to do nothing.

I’ve had numerous times over the last few days, and this morning in particular, where I’ve really struggled with doing nothing. By nothing, I mean either wasting time or not wanting to respond to people’s needs. Maybe you’ve been there with me before?

Take this morning for example. There’s one guy I meet from time to time who’s very hard to love. I would tell you why, but I feel like I’d be bashing him and I want to avoid that. Anyway, we talked this morning and I just had a really hard time engaging him like I should. It’s just easier to end the conversation, to give short answers, and do nothing than to really give the guy time. But I’m not called to love just the really awesome people of the world. I’m called to love everyone. So, he’s going on my prayer list but not in the way you might think. Yes, I’ll pray for him, but I’m mainly pray for my attitude towards him and that I would be open to serving him in some way.

The second part of doing nothing I’ve struggled with this morning is wasting time. I was a little tongue tied earlier and couldn’t quite figure out how to write the post I wanted to write (still haven’t!). There’s also a couple of other small tasks I’m avoiding, but it’s much easier to kill time on mindless things and I’m a pro at turning minutes into hours on the Internet.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m not wallowing in guilt. I don’t think I should be. I think there’s a healthy way of recognizing when we aren’t using the time God gives us to the fullest. So I think it’s good to evaluate from time to time and ask God, “Does my life look remotely like what you want it to look like?” In the case of my morning, probably not completely, but I’m learning. And now I’m off to do some collecting!

Have you Become Last today?

2 Comments

Filed under General Update, Prayer, Realizations, Time

2 responses to “Doing Nothing is Easier – Day 12

  1. Forrester McLeod

    Hey there!

    Enjoyed this post. I particularly liked the part where you said you were going to pray more for your attitude towards him to change. One of my favorite quotes from “A Course in Miracles” is:

    You are never upset for the reason you think you are.

    That practice asks again and again that we accept (difficult as it is!) that no one can upset us. Our reactions to others are strictly to do with ourselves and lessons we are still learning. Only through adjusting our attitudes does our world fall into a more peaceful place.

    It’s an extreme way of thinking, but the only one that rings true to me personally. Not asking you to share my view! You just churned up some thoughts. That’s a good thing and a good reminder for me as I sail off into my day. I wish you and your beliefs and journey much bliss!

    Bon Voyage….

  2. That is true. People don’t make us react one way or the other. We have the free will to love them despite anything they do or say to us. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

