Becoming Last – Day 11 – Complete Trust

Yesterday, I was reading through Mark and got to Mark 6 where Jesus sends out the disciples. Verses 8 and 9 tell us “these were his instructions, “Take nothing for the journey except a staff – no bread, no bag, no money in your belts. Wear sandals but not an extra tunic.”

It’s not that Jesus thought bread, bags, money, or tunics were bad things. He simply wanted the disciples to trust him. As I thought over that, it convicted me, yet again, of how often I serve Christ on my own terms. I’m like the disciple who takes an extra tunic, some bread to make sure I can feed my family and maybe stuffs some money in my tunic. It’s like I have the desire to go serve, yet I want to hedge my bets.

So I’m asking myself this week. What conditions am I putting on Christ in order for me to serve? Am I more concerned about my personal safety and comfort or am I completely willing to trust Him?

Don’t forget this week’s challenge! Set a goal of a vehicle or two full of food. I think today I’ll be asking my apartment complex managers to bring some food. Tommorrow, I’ll ask my friends at work. Don’t forget to plan!

Are there conditions you place on Becoming Last?

Leave a comment

Filed under Challenges, Chances to Serve, Scripture

Leave a Reply

