Becoming Last – Day 10 – Challenge #1

Someone once said, “Actions speak louder than words.” Mark Twain later on said, “Actions speak louder than words, but not nearly as often.”

I love that Mark Twain quote because it’s a good gut check for me. Does my life match my words/beliefs? I also think we don’t serve because we overlook the simplicity of it. We forget that serving can begin with small things. Today, I wanted to give us all a chance to begin Becoming Last. I decided I would make a challenge every once in awhile for us as a community to begin letting our actions speak more often than our words.

So here we go…This week’s challenge:

Collect canned goods (or any food a food pantry would take) from your neighbors and co-workers. Just pick a day or maybe a couple of days to go different places. Explain to your neighbors what you are doing and see what kind of responses you get.

A couple of tips. First, take some bags or boxes to collect. Second, offer to come back if they need some time. If you need help finding a food pantry in your area, just email, twitter, or send a comment to me. This is a pretty simple project, but it’s a great one to meet neighbors or co-workers you haven’t met. It’s also a great community builder and, of course, the food goes to help people who need it.

So there’s your challenge. Let’s make it a week long challenge. I’d love to hear how this went for you, so send in your stories throughout the week and I’ll be posting mine as we go along. Extra bonus if you get someone to join in with you! Good luck!

Will you Become Last this week?

Leave a comment

Filed under Challenges, Chances to Serve, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

