Becoming Last – Day 9 – Habitat House

This morning, 15 of us went to do Deconstruction on a house for Habitat for Humanity. They do deconstruction and reuse some of the materials on other homes or resell the material for money to use on other homes. It’s hard work, but it’s such a fun time. We took down some walls, tore up flooring, de-nailed wood, bundled wood, cleaned up the site, and other stuff. A very productive day!

To be honest with you, I am in no way a handyman. So it’s fun to get out there and try to do stuff, but it also glaringly shows me my limits. However, it does highlight how we are all needed. If just one of the workers had not shown up, that’s less accomplished.

Also, since I’m not used to hard labor (insert joke of your choice here), there were times to rest. During my constant frequent occasional break I would watch some of the others work together. You could tell they were enjoying working together and to know you’re doing it to help a deserving homeowner get a house that makes it even more fun. So thanks to everyone who worked out there with me. You really worked hard in that heat!

More to come later on…

Have you Become Last today?

4 Comments

Filed under Chances to Serve, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Becoming Last – Day 9 – Habitat House

  1. I enjoyed being there! It was great to see how hard all of you worked! Some of you didn’t stop at all! (MIchelle!) I was very impressed with the hard work and determination of everyone! It was a lot of fun. Wish I could have done more myself, but you know being with child and all made me have my limitations!!! And boy was it HOT HOT HOT!

  2. Debbie

    I had a great time. Thanks Matt for organizing this. I would love to help with more projects in the future. It motivated so much, I came home and tore up my backyard for about 3 hours. Now I’m about to collapse!

  3. It was a great time this morning. We really should get together and do service projects more often. The group really got a lot accomplished this morning. There was such great determination to continue moving forward until the assignments were completed dispite the heat. Thanks for arranging this Matt.

  4. Wish I could have been out there with you guys! It sounds like ya’ll had a great time! Thanks for serving!!!

Leave a Reply

