Becoming Last – Day 8 – Conversations

I must admit. I don’t think I realized the impact Becoming Last was going to have on my life. Each day, God seems to be opening my eyes to more and more. Over the past few days, I’ve realized the value of Becoming Last in conversations.

Be honest now. How many times have you had conversations where you are just waiting to jump in with the next word? How many times have you tried all the non-verbal “I’m done” signals (look at a clock, short answers, look away, talk about what you have to do) when someone is sharing with you? Maybe I’m alone on this, but many of my conversations would be based on the use I had for them. If I enjoyed them or if I felt like I could contribute I’d enjoy it. If not, I would look for the first reason to jump ship. I may be exaggerating a little, but you get the point.

Now, I’m beginning to put more value in conversations. For so long, I claimed time as MY time, but now that I’m giving it away I no longer feel the need to rush away from people. And I love the results! When I give people time to share and when I encourage them through reflecting on what they say (and not sharing my own story that tops theirs) I’ve had some amazing conversations. I’m learning more about what makes people tick and what they value. And sometimes, I know people just need someone to talk to, someone to listen to them.

Ephesians 4:29 says, “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building up others according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.”

I love that. Is my conversation building up people according to their needs or is it based on my schedule or feelings at the moment?

How can you Become Last in your conversations today?

3 Comments

Filed under Chances to Serve, Realizations, Scripture, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Becoming Last – Day 8 – Conversations

  1. Marie

    Wow, that really got me thinking. I can relate to a lot of what you said and it really puts a new spin on putting God and others first for me. Its amazing how in the moment I don’t even realize how much I focus on myself. Thanks for this.

    This blog reminds me a little of I Am Second. http://www.iamsecond.com/. Just heard about it a little bit ago. Check it out if you haven’t yet.

    • Good call Marie! I Am Second is a great website. If I ever get around to making my links section it will definitely be on there. Thanks for taking the time to comment and I’m glad you can relate!

  2. Reminds me of “E 4! 2 9!” from college… which affected me so much that I went home and taught it to my youth group kids, and they still use it as a self-check and peer-accountability. Awesome reflection, Matt. And btw, I dunno why you didn’t know I’ve had a blog FOR SIX YEARS, but I’m glad you know now. I’ve marked your blog in my “favorites” so I’ll check in frequently on yours if you return the favor. 🙂

Leave a Reply

