Becoming Last – Day 5 – 4:20pm – Positive Interactions

If you read this blog long enough, you’ll find that I can be quite the nerd. I’m an avid reader. I love scholarly type stuff on religion, philosophy, psychology, etc. I even clicked on and read a blog about how to read better today. Seriously.

Moving on…I began a book today entitled How Full is Your Bucket by Tom Rath and Donald O. Clifton. So far, I’ve enjoyed it. I hate saying whether I recommend things or not because I really recommend any book. Whether I agree with it or not, it never hurts to read and form your own opinion. Reading books counter to your views is good for you sometimes.

My favorite insight of How Full has been the work they shared on the influence seemingly insignificant interactions have on our lives. Rarely do we have an experience that is neutral. We either react to it positively or negatively. This got me thinking about Becoming Last. In my interactions with people, especially the short ones at my welcome desk job, what are they taking away? Am I making the most of the few seconds I sometimes share with people?

That may seem a little idealistic…making the  most of a few seconds, but consider this. They share a story in the book about how a woman credited in three words of praise by a mentor carried her through some tough times in life. Are we leaving people with positive memories of us and the God we serve?

Even just now, I got to put this into action. I’m sitting in my office and I overhear a man ask someone for directions. Realizing the other guy has no idea where the location is, I step out to help. I give the directions and wish them a good day. Maybe it has an impact. Maybe it doesn’t. Only God knows.

How can you Become Last today?

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

