Becoming Last – Day 2 – 8:44am

Looking back on yesterday, I realized I turned down a chance to serve when my family went out to the store. Doh!

When we got out of the car, there were four shopping cards in different places that needed to be taken back. This store doesn’t have people bring them up all day so they rely on people bringing them back. I’m not even sure why I didn’t do it. We were in a bit of a time crunch, but it only would have taken a minute or two.

There’s not really a point to the story, except to highlight the fact that I’m going to be honest and admit when I struggle doing the very things I want to do (namely serve and love people). No one may have even noticed the shopping carts being returned, but at a busy little store with a minimal number of employees it would have been a minor relief to the staff’s stress.

2 Comments

Filed under Chances to Serve, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Becoming Last – Day 2 – 8:44am

  1. I think it’s a super-old story, but I heard about a seminary that had given its students a very tight deadline to each give a presentation on what a modern-day version of the Good Samaritan would look like. Each student was scheduled to go to the building on the far side of campus and they were told they’d be docked marks if they were late. Unbeknownst to the students, one of the faculty dressed up as a homeless person and slumped in a doorway near where the students crossed to get to the building. Out of the 90 or so students, only approx 5 actually stopped to help the “homeless” person. The rest were preoccupied with getting to class and making their marks. Ironic, isn’t it?

  2. I’ve never heard that story, but that’s a good one. I wonder what I would do in that situation. Part of me wants to say I’d stop, but in reality I know I like getting good grades! I would have loved to have been a fly on the wall for that discussion time!

Leave a Reply

