Becoming Last – Day 1 – 10:51am

Realization #2 – I need to give people a second look.

I’m really giving 2 Corinthians 5:16 some thought today (I’ve loved this verse for awhile). “So from now on we regard no one from a worldly point of view. Though we once regarded Christ in this way, we do so no longer.” 

I’m absolutely shocked as I begin to see people in a whole new way and I’m scared to think it’s just begun. I’m starting to see the hurt in people. I’m starting to see the brokeness that I would overlook before as I enjoyed my time in my own little world. God is slowly adjusting my eyes to see people as He sees them.

And even scarier yet, I’m beginning to see the absolutely staggering number of people who don’t know God. I mean really, have these people just appeared? Most likely, I’ve just begun to care. If what I believe is true, then quite a few people are without relationship with God and this is devestatingly alarming on a couple of levels. First, because most people are content without God. Second, because I really believe that in some way my life has shown that I’m content seeing them without God.

Don’t worry. I’m not going to go running around smacking people over the head with the Bible. Forcing someone to believe in God isn’t possible. My prayer is that God would continue to open my eyes to their needs and that he would give me the boldness and courage to share with them God’s love at the right time and the best possible way.

I hope you can join me in taking a second look at the people around you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Making God Known, Realizations, Scripture, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

